To Every Guy I’ve Hurt Before.

If sorry could make things better, I’d say it a million times
But my words could never begin to heal the wounds I’ve inflicted on you
The wounds I poured emotional salt on to the point where they became untreatable
I’ve messed it up for the next girl
Leaving you with pain and questions that I cannot answer
I’ve lied to you, played you, took you for granted
I said things I didn’t mean and never told you what I really felt
I’m a monster and I know that I could never undo what has already been done
Tear stained eyes blur my vision as I write this because I now know how it really feels
I could blame my actions on past hurts and the last a**hole that broke my heart but the truth is, it was all me
I chose to play with your emotions
I chose to make “us” seem like more than we really were
I chose to put your feelings on the back burner while I selfishly took care of me
If sorry could make things better, I’d say it a million times
But my words could never begin to heal to wounds I’ve inflicted on you
You were good to me
I know this
You cared, you shared, you were there when I was at my lowest
You loved me in spite of Rose
You loved when I didn’t love myself
You loved me when I made it hard to love me
You loved me
And I could write you a million poems that beautifully describe how apologetic I am but I know that will never undo the done deed
But I’ll write you this piece to let you know that I acknowledge my wrong doings
And if you never speak to me again, I’ll understand
If you never speak to me again, I won’t be mad
Because the pain of knowing I hurt you feels like…it feels like…there’s no metaphor for it
It’s just painful
If sorry could make things better, I’d say it a million times
But my words could never begin to heal the wounds I’ve inflicted on you
But if sorry is a start to a long road of forgiveness
I’ll gladly say it 999,999 more times

2 thoughts on “To Every Guy I’ve Hurt Before.

  1. Please say it one more time to make it a, million and I’ll forgive you….i love this poem very sentimental

Leave a Reply

